QuickLink:
Ghibli Tavern - Hi, im new to Studio Ghibli movies. Recommendations needed.
Home Register Frequently Asked Questions Search Members List Moderators and Administrators
Ghibli Tavern » - Anime » Ghibli Discussions » Hi, im new to Studio Ghibli movies. Recommendations needed. » Hello Guest [register|login]
« Previous Thread | Next Thread » Print Page | Recommend to Friend | Add Thread to Favorites
Post New Thread Post Reply
Author
Susuwatari

Registration Date: 08.23.05
  Hi, im new to Studio Ghibli movies. Recommendations needed.Post Reply with Quote Edit/Delete Post Search for Posts by Unreal Report Post to a Moderator        IP Address Go to the top of this page

Hi, im new to Studio Ghibli movies

I'm looking for some recommendations.

I've seen Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke and i loved them both. Are there any other movies which are similiar?

I'm about to buy "Grave of the Fireflies" which ive heard a lot of good things about.

I've also read good things about "The Cat Returns" and "Porco Rosso" but im not too keen on talking Cats and talking Pigs, are they really that good?

Also, what is Castle In The Sky (Laputa) like?

Thanks

08.23.2005, 09:44 AM Unreal is offline   Profile for Unreal Add Unreal to your buddy list
Darren
Susuwatari

Registration Date: 08.22.05
  Post Reply with Quote Edit/Delete Post Search for Posts by Darren Report Post to a Moderator        IP Address Go to the top of this page

Excellent. Grave of the Fireflies is an awesome movie, but since you're buying that one and you're going to watch it, I won't be telling you what it's like. Only the grief and depression for the main characters :/

Here is my description on Laputa (No Spoilers):

~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~ _~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_~_